Thursday, February 21, 2013

THE post!

I've been staring at this blank screen for ... well, a while now. There are so many things I could say today--things I want to say. But I honestly don't know how to put into words what I'm feeling right now. Ironic, considering that words are what I use for a living.

I've already said much of what has lead me to this point before in THIS post, or THIS one, or even THIS SERIES of posts, way back in the distant past detailing my path to getting my first agent. (That link is the first post, I think I did it in 5 parts or something crazy like that. Also, I probably sound incredibly naive in those posts, so don't judge too harshly!)


It's been a long, long road.



BUT.


SOMETHING BIG HAPPENED.

Since I'm struggling to figure out what to write, instead of words, I'll use images. Today, this post is about something that makes me feel like this:




 And this:




And now, finally, I get to share this from Publisher's Weekly:

Lisa Sandell at Scholastic Press has bought Sara B. Larson's Defy, a debut YA adventure romance pitched as in the vein of Kristin Cashore and Leigh Bardugo. In the novel, the fiercest member of a prince's elite guard is actually a girl disguised as a boy, who gets embroiled in a deadly game of thrones while keeping her secret, and realizes she has far deeper feelings for the prince than she thought. The book will pub in spring 2014; Josh Adams at Adams Literary brokered the deal for North American rights.

I've been dying to share this news for a while and now I finally get to! AAAGGGHH!!!! ALL THE HAPPINESS!!!

When I got the call from Josh, he asked me how I was doing and then said, "Well, you're going to be published!"

I thought I'd do this:



And this:



Which I totally did... eventually. But when he said that to me, before I even knew who or what, I think I said, "I am?" and then did this:



And then when I found out who and what I did this:


(Except, they were ECSTATIC tears... But the ice cream is really appropriate because my hubby brought home ice cream to celebrate!)

Tears of joy, tears of relief... I'm sure Josh thought I was crazy.


But after my tears dried, there definitely was a lot of this:




Wow, that's a whole lot of emotion, right??

Guys, I am so so thrilled to be working with Lisa and to have my book published by Scholastic! It's an absolute dream come true!! And I can't wait to share DEFY with you! (This is the book I wrote last August, that used to be called Daughter of War--I'm pretty sure I talked about it in one of those posts I linked above.) I still can't quite believe it's going to be a real book, on a shelf, in my hands--possibly in your hands--in about a year! SQUEEE!!!! *happy dance* *all the tears of joy in the world*
 See? Here's me and my ice cream (after the happy tears had dried up), after I got my offer, with a nice little placement of a decoration beside me. In case you can't read it, it says "BELIEVE."
And here I am just last week, signing my contract!


I will do a post soon about all of the celebrations that have taken place over the last couple of months, including the amazing gift my sweet hubby gave me (other than ice cream). And I'll probably talk a lot about not giving up, and and inspirational shtuff like that. Because, let's face it, this is me we're talking about.

But for now, all I have to say is:



WOOOHOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

32 comments:

Caroline Starr Rose said...

Sara!!!!!

What a wonderful post! Congrats, lovely. And I get to be the first to say it!!

Carolina Valdez Miller said...

YAY YAY YAY!!! So happy for you! Well, you know how thrilled I am. And I'm so glad you finally can announce it! LOL Super news, my friend! Time to CELEBRATE! Can't wait to read DEFY!

Ashley said...

AHHH! All the congrats!!

Aubrey said...

I am so stinking happy for you. Can't wait to hold a copy in my hands!

DL Hammons said...

I've already said this over on Facebook, but it definitely bears repeating. BOO-YAH!!!!!

You so deserve this, and I am really happy for you! :)

Jen McConnel said...

Wow! Congratulations on finally being able to post the news! You rock, lady!

Apple Cider Mama said...

Congratulations again! So happy for you. Dream come true, for sure!!

Elana Johnson said...

CONGRATS, SARA!!!

Shallee said...

So. Freaking. AWESOME!

Kathryn Purdie said...

I feel like cartwheeling through my house I am do DANG EXCITED FOR YOU!!! What a long journey this has been, and here you are and very soon you will have the first printed and bound Sara B. Larson published masterpiece in your hands (and I will too!!!). YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

L.T. Elliot said...

Congratulations, Sara! That's awesome news!!!

Jen Almond said...

Way to go! Excited to read it!

My Summer Girl said...

Congratulations on your book deal! I'm really excited to be able to read DEFY in 2014. This is an AWESOME time for you as an author, so enjoy it to the fullest!

I'll be watching for new updates!

Have a fantastic day!

-Dulcy
(My Summer Girl Books)

Suzie F. said...

Awesome news, Sara! I knew it was only a matter of time. Congratulations and have fun celebrating!

Chersti Nieveen said...

Wow, that is so much emotion all wrapped in one post, and you described it so well that I felt like I was right there with you! Congrats - it really was only a matter of time for you. You are such a talented writer :-)

J.R. Johansson said...

Congrats Sara! Scholastic is fantastic! So happy you're getting a chance to celebrate.

Lynne Matson said...

Sara,

YAY!!!!!!! So crazy happy for you! *sends chocolate and cupcakes and all kinds of sweet goodness*

And Scholastic? That's AWESOME. DEFY sounds fantastic and I can't wait to read it!

xo & Valentine <3 :)

Theresa Milstein said...

YaY! I'm thrilled for you! Congratulations! : ) I can't wait to read it too.

Becky Wallace said...

CONGRATS!! I love, love, love to see other Utah-folk succeed. Way to represent!

Sara B. Larson said...

Thank you SO SO much everyone -- I can't even begin to tell you how much your comments and support mean to me. *Huge Awkward Hugs for EVERYONE*

Renee Collins said...

I leave the internet for a few hours and this happens.

HURRAH! Huge congrats, Sara. And I love the new title!

Elle Strauss said...

Congratulations Sara! I know how hard you worked for this--you totally deserve it!!

Tasha Seegmiller said...

That is incredible! Congratulations!!!

ilima said...

I am so thrilled for you, Sara! Best news ever...glad you can finally share it with the world. I can't wait until your book comes out.

Peggy Eddleman said...

Congrats! I'm so happy for you! And I love the new title. It's perfect!

Janiel Miller said...

WOOO - FREAKING - HOOOOO! I am SO very happy for you. You have worked so hard for this and most definitely deserve it. I am so excited to read this book. Booyeah!

Monique said...

That is so totally awesome sauce!! To have Scholastic pick up your book is such terrific news!! Good onya! :)

Michelle Davidson Argyle said...

LOVE YOU SARA!!!! I'm so happy for you. *HUGS* :)

Robin said...

Congratulations! I'd be doing some serious celebrating as well. What a road you've traveled (and what a beautiful result). *happy dance*

erica m. chapman said...

SARA!! AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! I love when great things happen to the best people. You deserve all of this and more! SO SO happy for you <3333

CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!

Jennie Bailey said...

Holy COW!!! I've been sick and working and haven't been checking the blog, but something told me that I needed to go check in with you. SARA!!!!!!!!! I squealed and woke the napping dog. One of the cats ran from the room.

CONGRATULATIONS!!! I knew it would happen. I knew it. And I love the sound of the book. I can't wait to see it on the shelves and to read. You have deserved this for so long, but it happened exactly when it was supposed to. Exactly when it was planned. So excited and happy for you!!!!!

Kevin Hiatt said...

Late to the story, but I've been reading over your blog and just wanted to say thanks for documenting your journey.. the struggles, the highs, the lows.. just thanks for the inspiration, because that's what it is, to me at least, inspiration to close this out as soon as I post this and get back to work on my WIP. Congratulations on your victory!!